Let the baking commence!

I do major – MAJOR – baking for Christmas. My niece, Meghan, comes over for a day or two and we crank out holiday goodies like whoa. All those goodies then go to Mister’s mom’s house on Christmas Day, where the whole family enjoys the BEST CHRISTMAS BRUNCH IN THE HISTORY OF THE WORLD. Seriously, we all start talking dreamily about it every year in, like, July. You’ll be hearing more about that next week, I’m sure. 🙂 Mmmmm brunch……

Anyway…Meghan and I are kicking off our baking this afternoon. Here’s the plan:

Eggnog Cheesecakes with dulce de leche

Glazed Sprinkle Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

Sugar Cookie Truffles

Lemon Sugar Cookies (these are a ‘maybe”)

Cinnamon Caramel Corn

Pretzel Turtles

Oh, we’re not fooling around. SERIOUS BUSINESS. Next week (or so) I’ll share how all that goes with you, too.

Now, for some actually done baking: I kicked off my extra baking this past weekend with one of my favorites: Eggnog Bread. SO. GOOD. I know some folks (Mister) are iffy about egg nog, but I have always, always loved it…to drink and in recipes. This bread is really easy to do, and pretty quick prep (you don’t even need a mixer), so I made a few loaves and put them in the freezer until this weekend.

Start with throwing all your dry stuff together and whisking it up:

…and then mixing all your wet ingredients together in another bowl:

Make sure to create a well in your flour mix before you add the wet stuff – it just makes it easier to get it all mixed in together.

When you bring wet and dry together, just whisk until it’s well mixed — it will be kinda lumpy, you don’t need it to be smooth. BTW, making this bread is when I realized that I LOVE the smell of nutmeg. It’s just a homey, cozy scent. And also BTW, since I do love the smell of nutmeg so much, I tend to use quite a bit more than the recipe calls for. I rarely measure it, since the recipes usually state, like, 1/4 teaspoon, which is nothing…so I just shake it straight into the bowl until I decide I like the looks of it. How’s that for science??

I used spray butter for my pan, but you could certainly literally butter the pan if you’re a purist. 🙂 Scoop all the nutmeggy goodness in there and smooth it out, then pop it in the oven.

I baked mine for about 50 minutes…at 45 minutes, I was still getting a lot of batter on my toothpick when I tested it. After it comes out of the oven, let it cool in the pan for about 10 minutes or so, then pop it out and let it cool completely.

Yum. I love how it splits on top…mostly because those splits create a perfect crevice to collect glaze. OH YES, THERE IS GLAZE.

Look at all that nutmeg!!! Once the bread is completely cool, then you pour the glaze all over. Make sure you let that glaze set, too, before you wrap up the bread…or else you get smeared glaze all over…which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I don’t have any pics of sliced bread since these are being saved for Christmas Day…but I do plan to take my fancy camera to brunch with me so that I can get more pics of things being eaten. MMM BRUNCH.

Get the full recipe for this bread over at Recipe Girl!

Leave a Reply

