Look what I made: part 2 of when I rocked.

Okay, so I also made the Caramel Apple Cheesecake Bars that I had my eye on for Thanksgiving. I WANT TO EAT THESE EVERY DAY. 

…okay, I guess that really kind of says it all.

Anyway, these are pretty easy to make — lots of steps, but not difficult ones. The hardest part for me was cutting in the butter when I was making the crust. I don’t have a pastry blender, so I was trying to use 2 forks for this process…and honestly, ultimately, I just used my hands and mushed it all together. Probably not the best way to get it done, but I say the ends justify the means. And the end was awesome. Here’s the crust before baking — the recipe recommended covering the pan in foil, so I did. Definitely makes for easier clean up.

While the crust was baking, I got my apples all chopped up and got the streusel topping ready, as well as (of course) the cheesecake layer. I’ll admit that I’m a latecomer to cheesecake, really – I only developed a taste for it about 5-6 years ago, and now I’m all “cheesecake?? yes, please!!” like any time and all times. 

When the crust came out of the oven, I had my layers ready to go. First the cheesecake, then the apples (mixed with cinnamon and nutmeg), and the streusel on top. I was very excited already at this point.

I baked it for about 9 minutes or so longer than called for in the recipe just because the cheesecake seemed a bit too jiggly at 40 minutes. After it comes out of the oven, then you drizzle caramel topping all over…which I totally spaced on and did not buy. However, I DID have a squeeze bottle of Starbucks caramel syrup – that works! I warmed it up a tiny bit in the microwave and then drizzled it — or maybe poured it, you decide. Mmmm, caramel.

The tricky part here was that I couldn’t taste it beforehand. I didn’t want to be the girl that brings a dessert with a chunk missing out of it. So, I had to wait until Thanksgiving dinner to see how it all came together…and OH. EM. GEE. So delicious!!! The cheesecake was super smooth, and then the apples were tangy, and the streusel was all crunchy and awesome. Yes!

I did take a picture of a slice, to try and show the yummy layers…but I only had my cell phone, and it just didn’t come out so great…but here’s what that looked like:

Ok, that’s really more of a tiny square than a slice, but you get the idea. To demonstrate just how awesome it was, though, I present my niece Meghan:

Look at the pure joy!

Get the full recipe at The Girl Who Ate Everything.

*****************

Also, it was one year ago today that I started this blog. I had just found out that my job was being eliminated, and apparently that was just the push I needed to put thoughts into action. Mysterious ways, right?

One response to “Look what I made: part 2 of when I rocked.

Leave a Reply

