Declutter Thursday Revived: Command Central

Hi! I haven’t officially decluttered anything in a while, since there are really only big projects left, and I’m a slacker. I did, however, finally suck it up and tackle my office. Since I work from home AND I’m a huge computer geek, I spend the majority of every day in this office…and it had gotten a bit out of control. Don’t judge me. 

I know, right? I love my office furniture; I splurged a few years ago and bought most of these pieces from the Bedford Collection at Pottery Barn. It’s great for lots of storage…or for lots of piling on of random things, as evidenced above. I also love this room – it’s the smallest bedroom in the house and it’s just kinda precious. It’s a nice size for a cozy office, but it starts to feel kinda tiny when my things are piled to the point of overflowing to the floor. So, let’s make this happen!

This was really mostly a matter of throwing away a bunch of stuff that was just sitting around. I had to make a few tough decisions and say goodbye to some cute things that mostly serve no purpose, such as:

I also found a few things that I didn’t even realize I had…like this stack of unopened Architectural Digest issues from 2003-2004. I really do love this magazine, but I think I just went through a phase where it was too much like heavy reading or something. BUT I WILL NOT THROW THESE AWAY – THEY COULD BE CLASSICS SOMEDAY!! *shakes fist to the sky*

I also went through all my other magazines that were laying around and organized them into my handy-dandy magazine organizers that I picked up at Ikea a few months ago. I’m keeping all my copies of Martha Stewart, Country Living, Cottage Living, House Beautiful, etc — 1) because I am a pack rat and 2) because I just think it’s awesome to keep them around for inspiration, and also for nostalgia some day down the road. See how I justify?

Here’s where I ended up:

Yay!! I have a tiny bit of an echo in here now, but that’s alright. 🙂 Some day I’ll get it painted and more decorated — it’s really not very welcoming right now, from a design perspective. Some day. For now, though, it does feel better to have things so nicely in order. All my desk drawers are still chaos, btw, but I can’t see that every time I walk in, so they can stay for now. See how I justify?

And – most importantly – the dogs still have their little nest under my project table, as demonstrated by Max.

Priorities.

2 responses to “Declutter Thursday Revived: Command Central

Leave a Reply

