Window shopping: my never-ending and frustrating quest for a rug

I haven’t had a living room rug in about 10 years. Why? Well, for one, I’m cheap and I cringe at the thought of spending $800-$1500 for a decent rug. And secondly, I just get overwhelmed with choices.Do I want a patterned rug? Something more organic? What color? What won’t easily be destroyed by dogs? I DON’T KNOW.

Anyway…I know I need to suck it up and buy one, because the room just looks sort of bare without it:

So I think – THINK – I’ve worked my brain around laying out a bit of cash for something nice…and Pottery Barn is having 15% off their rugs right now…so it’s time for some window shopping, at least.

Bindu Persian-style Rug from Pottery Barn – 8’x10′ $699.00 – I’m not sure about the tan…I think the red would be fine, but would it all be too much contrast?

Maren Persian-style Rug from Pottery Barn – 8×10′ $599.00 – I like the soft blues here, which might work well with the vague grey-blue-splashes of red color scheme I’ve been considering.

Color-Bound Flat-Braided Jute Rug from Pottery Barn – 8×10′ $299.00 – I like these primarily because they’re cheap…and they also seem more durable. I like the idea of something very neutral and non-patterned that doesn’t compete with the rest of the room. But is it just dull?

Linen Jute Rug from Pottery Barn – 8×10′ $349.00 – Okay, I’m kinda digging this. It’s cheaper…it’s organic…it seems durable…but it’s not so flat as the jute rugs above. It has a bit more depth. Yes? Maybe?

HELP ME, PLEASE.

4 responses to “Window shopping: my never-ending and frustrating quest for a rug

Leave a Reply

