Look what I made: Desserts, part 2

Hi! So, in addition to my patriotic strawberries, I also tried a new recipe for Glazed Lemon Bars, from the ladies over at Our Best Bites. I’m a big fan of lemon bars but haven’t ever made my own before. This recipe is a little different than the “standard” lemon bars…I can’t say that I prefer one over the other, though. I’ll go with equally delicious…which could also be a great name for, say, a modern Jazz Duo. Equally Delicious!! \m/

First step is the crust, which was easy enough to whip up…really, there’s nothing very complicated about this recipe. My challenge, though, was getting this mixture spread into the pan. The recipe calls for cutting in your butter, either with a pastry blender or two knives. I went with two knives, and cut in the best I could – it’s not something I’ve had a lot of practice with – and then I dug in there with my hands to get it all blended a little better. That means I ended up with most of this mixture stuck to my hands. Ok, no problem, right? I’ll just go ahead and scrape what’s on my hands into the pan, along with what’s left in the mixing bowl, and then I’ll pat it all down! Except that the more I patted, then more it stuck to my hands. Clearly, flouring my hands first was probably the way to go…unfortunately, that didn’t occur to me until too late. Anyway, I wrestled with it for a while until I had as much as I was gonna get in there, spread out as far as it would go. I was a little concerned about the edges being so thin before baking, but there wasn’t much I could do about that.

Luckily it all baked up nicely and the edges didn’t give me any trouble at all.

Next comes the frothy lemon-y mixture…which I don’t really have any pics of…but it’s just, you know, frothy and lemon-y. Oh, and totally bowl-lickable because it’s so yummy. Pour that on and bake a little while longer, then when that’s nice and golden brown – and kinda spongey looking, in a good way – just set it out to cool for a few hours.

The final touch is a simple lemon-sugar glaze poured over top, and then refrigerate for at least 2 hours. That’s it!

Ok, that pic is before I stuck it in the fridge, but you get the idea. After it sets up, the glaze gives a nice, sweet crust on top…and the bottom crust is really yummy. I wish I had gotten a good pic of the cross section so you could see the layers…but I was not super organized with pics this weekend. I’ll definitely make these again…they were a hit with the party crowd, and actually seemed to get better with time. I had maybe 8-9 squares left over that went back into the refrigerator…and, as it turns out, they make an excellent breakfast.

I did cheat a little, as I’m wont to do. I did not use fresh-squeezed lemon juice, as the recipe calls for. That just doesn’t sound like me. I cut butter in, I’m supposed to squeeze lemons, too? Nope. I just used good ol’ bottled lemon juice, and I don’t think it hurt the final product at all. I’m sure fresh juice would be better…but just know, if you’re lazy like me, you can get away with the bottled stuff.

Okay…I used this picture yesterday, too – here it is again, though, as the only “finished product” shot I have of the lemon bars, over there in the left corner:

Be sure to check out the post on Our Best Bites for the full recipe!

Leave a Reply

