DeClutter Thursday: how big is this kitchen?

For such a non-large kitchen, it seems to have a ton of decluttering spots. I’m back in there this week, tackling the main cabinet for pots/pans and plastic containers. We actually cleaned this out about 2 years ago, so it’s not nearly as bad as it could have been…but we do kinda suck at keeping bottoms and lids together, and this is what happens:

Plus I think, along the way, we threw a bunch of stuff in there because we couldn’t fit it in other cabinets. Well, NOW, due to my ongoing decluttering efforts, I can move some of this stuff into its more appropriate cabinet. Hooray!

I also found a few items that could be thrown out, just old and kind of ‘ugh’ stuff, and I also threw out any plastic top or bottom that was missing its mate. With everything left, here’s what I had (before relocating stuff like those baking pans and the serving platters):

I know that folks – organized folks, that is – generally store their plastic stuff all stacked with the lids nearby, which does save a lot of room. BUT, knowing how terrible we are about being able to find matching tops and bottoms when they aren’t connected, I decided to just match up all the pairs and store them all cozy and lidded. That way, we should never have to go searching for half a pair…provided we always put these things away like we should. We’ll see how that goes.

Here’s the end result!

Lots of room left over if we need to add a few more large pieces on the bottom shelf…and it’s so nice to have all the pieces together on the top shelf. EASY!

As it turns out, I’m kind of a sucker for cute plastic stuff…so now I really want to replace all my containers with something so much cuter. Wouldn’t that brighten up the inside of the cabinet? It just makes good design sense, if ya think about it.

*image via Preserve Products

*images via Seltzer Studios

*image via Jody Dailey

I love that last picture! Reminds me of when I was a wee child and Tupperware parties were THE RAGE!!! /nostalgia

One response to “DeClutter Thursday: how big is this kitchen?

  • Ma

    Funny you should make that comment, as I am your mother and Tupperware parties were all the rage when I was growing up! I remember vividly the Tupperware lady teaching the ladies how to burp their bowls. And mind you, the ladies were dressed for these parties – heels, necklaces and earbobs! We really have come a long way, baby.

Leave a Reply

