Inspiration Files: Built-ins

Today I’m thinking about built-ins. I have always loved pretty much anything that can be classified as “built-in” – bookshelves, window seats, decorative alcoves, banquettes – anything. Our living room has a built-in bookshelf next to the fireplace, which makes me happy…and on the opposite wall, which is the front of the house, we have a single window that would be perfect for a built-in window seat and flanking bookshelves. Maybe someday.

I love this mix of cabinets and open shelves.

*image via Tar Paper Crane

I love the color on this built-in, and the mirrored back gives a great touch of glam.

*image via Lonny Mag

Ooh, I actually like that this is not a full-height built-in. Gives you great surfaces for display.

*image via Houzz

The curved facade is really sweet on this one.

*image via Houzz

Oh, I love how rustic this one is – and I love the ladder!!

*image via Country Living

One response to “Inspiration Files: Built-ins

  • Ma

    I agree – that would be the perfect spot for a window seat and flanking built-ins. And it would give Chloe and Max a bird’s-eye view of the evil mailman. Grrrr…

Leave a Reply

