Make It Your Own – the back porch

I decided to try my hand at virtually recreating a favorite look, via the wonders of online shopping. I’m not actually buying any of these things, but I like the idea of searching out pieces with which to make my own version of an inspiration room. The target today is my favorite porch from my previous inspiration post:

*image via Kathryn Dover on Pinterest

I’ll tell you right up front that this was NOT so easy. I was searching far and wide, but still struggled with a few pieces. Namely those chairs! The chairs in our inspiration pic are gorgeous, and clearly one of a kind. I really couldn’t find any chairs to compare, so I had to compromise a bit. These are still nice options, though – just need a paint job!

1. Aaron Wood Seat Chair from Pottery Barn – $299 for the arm chair

2. White French Bistro Side Chair from World Market – $199.98 for a set of 2

3. Carved English Arm Chair from DutchTouchAntiques on Etsy – yeah, I even checked Etsy – $195, and there was only one listed.

The table was a tough one, too. The original table is gorgeous – I couldn’t find an exact match, so I tried to stick with the same idea: round, wood, hopefully with some curves on the base.

1. Newberry Round Coffee Table from Pottery Barn – $599

2. Linden Street Round Cocktail Table from JCPenney – $269

3. Vintage Round Coffee Table from lagrangeds on Etsy – $595

The hanging lanterns were fairly easy, and I like a few different options for these, but still with the same flavor.

1. Wire Lanterns from West Elm – $59 – $69

2. Battery-operated Paper Lanterns from World Market – $14.99

3. Silk Citrus Hanging Lantern from Overstock.com – $33.99 (I’m pretty sure this is exactly the one that’s in the inspiration picture)

I couldn’t find a floor lantern quite as large as the one on the dream porch, but a grouping of 3-5 smaller lanterns would work.

1. Marrakech Hurricane Lantern from Overstock.com – $76.99

2. Casablanca Filigree Metal Lanterns from Pottery Barn – $59 – $99

3. Cutwork Lantern from Home Decorators Collection – $44

The pillows were fun – again, not exact, but I was happy to keep them light and happy in pinks and blues. AND I found them all at Pier 1 ♥!

1. Embroidered Bird Pillow from Pier 1 – $26.18

2. Beaded Flowers Pillow from Pier 1 – $22.38

3. Diamond Flower Applique Pillow from Pier 1 – $27.96

4. Floral Appliqued Pillow from Pier 1 – $23.96

The last piece is the curtains, and I found just one perfect option for these.

1. Outdoor Grommet Drape from Pottery Barn – $49 – $69

Ta da! I’m like your own personal shopper…for things you may not be shopping for. You’re welcome! 😉

**Please note that prices listed are as of the date that this post was drafted.**

Leave a Reply

